Archive for the ‘Johnson County’ Category

Elected Officials & Department Heads

February 28, 2011 in Johnson County | Comments (1)

Johnson County Board of Commissioners
Web Site:
   Guy Singletary, County Administrator –
   James L. McAfee, Jr., Commission Chair, (District II)
   Jack Foskey, Vice Chairman, (District V)
   Felice Pullen, Board Member, (District I)
   Donald Smith, Board Member, (District IV)
   Jerronney (Ron) Darrisaw, Board Member, (District III)
   Johnson County Courthouse, 2557 East Elm Street
   P.O. Box 269
   Wrightsville, GA 31096
   478-864-3388, Phone
   478-864-9441, Fax
Johnson County Board of Education:  
Web Site: 
    Dr. Hayward Cordy, Superintendent of Schools 
    150 Lee Street
    P.O. Box 110
    Wrightsville, GA 31096    
    478-864-3302, Phone
    478-864-4053, Fax
Johnson County Board of Elections 
    Debbie Killingsworth, Election Supervisor 
    6816 East College Street
    P.O. Box 269
    Wrightsville, GA 31096
    478-864-4019, Phone
    478-864-2019, Fax
Johnson County Convenience Center
    478-864-0590, Phone
Johnson County Department of Children & Family Services
    Genell Akins, Director
    478-864-4210, Phone
Johnson County Development Authority: (Call County Commission)  
Johnson County EMS
Emergency Number: 478-864-0800
Johnson County Extension Service
    Brent Allen, County Extension Coordinator
    Sondra Fortner, County Extension Agent, 4-H/FACS 
    239 Trojan Way
    P.O. Box 31
    Wrightsville, GA 31096
    478-864-3373, Phone
    478-864-4004, Fax
Johnson County Health Department 
    Amy Tanner, Head Nurse,
    82 Hilton Holton Street
    P.O. Box 28
    Wrightsville, GA 31096
    478-864-3542,  Phone
    478-864-1777, Fax
Johnson County Historical Society 
     Lisa Keyton, President       
    478-864-2590, Phone

Johnson County Probate Office

    Mary Jo Buxton, Probate Judge
    Johnson County Courthouse, 2557 East Elm Street
    P.O. Box 269
    Wrightsville, GA 31096
    478-864-3316, Phone
    478-864-0745, Fax
Johnson County Property Records: 
Johnson County Recreation Department:  
    Daniel Tanner, Director
    478-864-3901, Phone
Johnson County Road Department
    Homer Garnto, Supt.
    478-864-3822, Phone
Johnson County Superior Court  
    Patricia Glover, Superior Court Clerk
    Johnson County Courthouse, 2557 East Elm Street
    P.O. Box 321
    478-864-3484, Phone
    478 864-1343, Fax
Johnson County Supports & Services
    Kathy Moses, Director,
    605 West Elm Street
    P.O. Box 332
    Wrightsville, GA 31096
Johnson County Senior Citizens’ Center
    Vicki Roberts, Director,
    108 Hilton Holton Street
    Wrightsville, GA 31096
    478-864-3255, Phone
    478-864-2251, Fax
Johnson County Sheriff’s Department    
    Rusty Oxford, Sheriff
    230 Donovan-Harrison Road
    Wrightsville, GA 31096
    478-864-3941, Phone
    478-864-2944, Fax
Johnson County Tax Assessor
    Donna McCoy, Chief Appraiser –
    478-864-3325, Phone 
    478-864-1529, Fax
    8679 North Marcus Street
    P.O. Box 269
    Wrightsville, GA 31096
Johnson County Tax Commissioner
    Sherry Vickers, Tax Commissioner
    Johnson County Courthouse, 2557 East Elm Street
    P.O. Box 269
    Wrightsville, GA 31096
    478-864-2565, Phone
    478-864-7240, Fax
U.S. Post Office, Wrightsville 
    Keith Lamb, Postmaster
    478-864-8136, Phone
rightsville-Johnson County Chamber of Commerce
    Web Site, 
    Lynn Lamb, Executive Secretary 
    6745 East College Street
    P.O. Box 94
    Wrightsville, GA 31096
    478-864-7200, Phone


Library Fighting Back!

February 16, 2011 in Better Hometown,Chamber of Commerce,City of Wrightsville,Events,Johnson County,Local News | Comments (0)

Tags: , , , ,

Surviving in bleak economic times and facing a reduction in funding from the State of Georgia, the Harlie Fulford Memorial Library is fighting back! The local library board has formed a Friends of the Library non-profit organization whose mission is to promote interest in, use of, and public support for the library. As demands for library services grow and budget cuts increase, the local Friends of the Library group hopes to counteract  budget shortfalls and supplement the library’s needs.
Local support for the library is funded by the Johnson County Commission, the City of Wrightsville, and the Johnson County Board of Education and while these funds remain in place for the coming year it is hoped that The Friends of the Library can make a meaningful contribution to an important local institution.
Friends of the Library board members agree that the success of the library’s non-profit will hinge on community support. Everyone is encouraged to join. Annual dues are: Students: $1.00; Individual: $10.00; Family: $20.00; Donor: $25.00 and Sponsor: $50.00. The Friends of the Library organization is listed as a 501(c)3 meaning  that individual donations qualify as being tax exempt. Checks for dues and donations may be mailed to the Harlie Fulford Friends of the Library, P.O. Box 69, Wrightsville,  31096.
A Book Sale held the first week in April was the group’s fundraising kickoff and proved to be a huge success! 

150th Celebration Banners for Sale

May 21, 2010 in Better Hometown,City of Wrightsville,Johnson County,Local News | Comments (0)

The150 Banner commemorative banners that hung on Wrightsville’s lampposts during Johnson County’s 150 birthday celebration (2008) are now on sale for $20 each. Besides being a nice keepsake, the banners will make great wall hangings. Please leave a message at the Better Hometown Office (864-0048) to reserve yours. They are going fast…only twenty-five in all!

Follow Us on Facebook

March 3, 2010 in Chamber of Commerce,Johnson County,Local News | Comments (0)

Tags: ,

Follow the Wrightsville-Johnson County Chamber of Commerce on Facebook